DIY Carved Stamp Pattern

I hav a fun little DIY to share with you all today!

For a little extra storage in our bedroom, I purchased an inexpensive cabinet, but I knew I wanted to spice it up a bit. I’ve always loved the look of wallpaper on the back of a bookcase, so I thought I’d give it a go. I searched for the right paper and pattern, but nothing was quite right, so I decided to take matters in to my own hands.

I’d seen the stamp carving sets in Paper Source before and I had wanted to give it a try, so this seemed like the perfect time! The set comes with the rubber and two carving pieces. I didn’t use all the rubber, so looks like there are more stamps in my future!

DIY stamping supplies

I started by drawing the shape in Illustrator. This was a nice way for me to play with size and pattern once I had the shape that I liked. But you could draw it by hand or find a shape in google images. I thought it would be fun and bold to go with an arrow.

I cut the arrow out and traced it on the rubber and began to carve around it. It is surprisingly easy to carve–the tools go quite smoothly through the stamp. It took some time to get the surrounding area low enough so it didn’t leave remnant markings; I just kept testing it, carving a little more, testing, carving more, etc.

carved stamp

Once I had my stamp completed, I laid out some white craft paper cut to the size of the back of my bookcase. In order to keep the pattern straight and centered, I started with the center row. I taped out a column down the middle using painters tapes and started stamping! I wasn’t worried about this being perfect–in fact, I like the hand-made look–so I just eye-balled the stamping from this point. It could have also been fun to do this totally at random, which would have certainly been easier!

DIY arrow stamp

While stamping seems easy, it does take a little practice to get the right pressure to get a complete image without ink around your image. I would recommend playing with your stamp a bit before going to your final piece to get a feel for things.

Once my pattern was done, I adhered it to the bookcase backing with a layer of mod podge (also a little challenging to keep out the bubbles–I recommend borrowing a second set of hands for this step), then two coats of mod podge to seal it.

I have to say, I love how it turned out! It’s not perfect, but I made it! It’s a nice bold touch to our bedroom. I also love that I’ll be able to reuse this stamp again and again. In fact, I’m thinking it might make some adorable holiday wrapping! What do you think?

DIY stamped bookcase back

2 Comments

Filed under DIY and Crafts, My Life, Our Home

2 responses to “DIY Carved Stamp Pattern

  1. Mom

    Looks fabulous! What a great idea — yes, I’m biased but you are so creative & talented!

  2. Love it! So adorable! Love your designs! I featured your project on my Weekend DIY http://craftsmitherz.blogspot.de/2013/08/weekend-diy-arrows.html Thanks for sharing this idea!

Share Your Thoughts!

